Timeline and Club Honours


2000-2001: Relegated to the third tier of English football. 

2001-2002: Ian Holloway replaces Gerry Francis as Manager. 

2002-2003: Losing Division Two Play-Off finalists to Cardiff City at the Millennium Stadium.

2003-2004: Runners-up in Division Two - promoted to Championship. Gianni Paladini joins the Club as Chairman.

2007-2008: Bernie Ecclestone and Flavio Briatore buy the Club, later joined by Lakshmi Mittal.

2009-2010: Neil Warnock appointed Manager.

2010-2011: Championship Champions - promoted back to the Premier League.

2011-2012: Malaysian entrepreneur Tony Fernandes buys a majority stake in the Club, along with Kamarudin Bin Meranun and Ruben Emir Gnanalingam. Mark Hughes replaces Neil Warnock as manager.

2012-2013: Harry Redknapp appointed as manager - QPR relegated to the Championship.

2013-2014: QPR win the Championship Play-Off Final. QPR promoted back to the Premier League.

2014-2015: Harry Redknapp resigns as Manager. Chris Ramsey appointed Caretaker Manager. QPR relegated to the Championship.

2015-2016: Chris Ramsey appointed Head Coach. Chris Ramsey sacked. Neil Warnock appointed Interim Head Coach. Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink appointed Manager.

2016-2017: Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink sacked. Ian Holloway returns for his second spell as Manager. 


1975-1976: Runners-up in Division One - Rangers qualify for UEFA Cup. Five players in the England squad, including Gerry Francis as Captain. 

1978-1979: Relegated to Division Two.

1980-1981: Terry Venables appointed Manager. 

1981-1982: Artificial pitch installed at Loftus Road (first in UK). QPR reach the FA Cup Final losing to Tottenham Hotspur in a replay.

1982-1983: Division Two Champions - promoted to Division One.

1983-1984: Guinness first shirt sponsors. Fifth in Division One - Club qualify for the UEFA Cup. 

1985-1986: Jim Smith appointed manager. Runners-up to Oxford United in Milk (League) Cup Final at Wembley. 

1986-1987: Jim Gregory sells Club to David Bulstrode. Merger with Fulham to form Fulham Park Rangers proposed and rejected.

1988-1989: Death of Bulstrode - Richard Thompson becomes Chairman.

1991-1992: Gerry Francis appointed Manager. 

1992-1993: Members of the Premier League in its inaugural season. 

1994-1995: Ray Wilkins appointed Player/Manager.

1995-1996: Les Ferdinand joins Newcastle United for a record fee of £6million. Club relegated to second tier. 

1996-1997: Chris Wright buys club from Richard Thompson - Loftus Road PLC formed.

1998-1999: Gerry Francis reappointed Manager. 

Club Honours

Division 1 (Level 1)
Runners-up 1975/76

Championship (Level 2)
Champions 2010/11
Play-Off winners 2013/14

Division Two (Level 2)
Champions 1982/83
Runners-up 1967/68, 1972/73

FA Cup
Finalists 1981/82

League Cup
Winners 1966/67
Finalists 1985/86

FA Charity Shield
Runners-up 1908/09, 1911/12

Division 2 (Level 3)
Runners-up 2003/04
Play-Off Finalists 2002/03

Division 3 (Level 3)
Champions 1966/67

Division 3 South (Level 3)
Champions 1947/48
Runners-up 1946/47

Division 3 Regional (Level 3)
Champions 1945/46

Southern League
Champions 1907/08, 1911/12

Western League
Champions 1905/06

Southern Charity Cup
Winners 1912/13

West London Challenge Cup
Finalists 1890/91

West London Observer Cup
Winners 1892/93
Finalists 1893/94


1950-1951: Reg Allen transfers to Manchester United for £10,000 (then a record fee for a goalkeeper). Rangers' all-time record appearance holder Tony Ingham signs from Leeds United.

1951-1952: Relegated to Division Three (South).

1952-1953: Jack Taylor replaces Mangnall as Manager. 

1953-1954: Kit colours change to all white. 

1958-1959: Members of Division Three after regionalised divisions are scrapped. 

1959-1960: Alec Stock replaces Taylor as Manager.

1960-1961: QPR revert back to blue and white hoops. Record 9-2 victory v Tranmere Rovers. 

1961-1962: Most league goals scored in a season (111). 

1962-1963: The R's move back to the White City Stadium. 

1963-1964: And then back to Loftus Road just a year later!

1964-1965: Jim Gregory elected as Chairman of the Club.

1966-1967: Division Three Champions. Winners of first ever League Cup Final to be played at Wembley Stadium (QPR 3, West Bromwich Albion 2)

1967-1968: Division Two Runners-up - promoted to Division One.

1968-1969: Tommy Docherty arrives as Manager and leaves after a month. Relegated to Division Two with only 18 points (a record low at the time).

1970-1971: Gordon Jago appointed Manager.

1971-1972: Rodney Marsh capped by England.

1972-1973: Division Two Runners-up - promoted to Division One.

1973-1974: Record home league attendance of 35,353 v Leeds United. 

1974-1975: Dave Sexton appointed Manager. 


1931-1932: Rangers move to the White City Stadium. Record home gate of 41,097 v Leeds United (FA Cup).

1932-1933: First experimental floodlight match held.

1933-1934: The Club move back to Loftus Road. 

1938-1939: New 'Loft' terrace opened by Herbert Morrison. Ted Vizzard appointed Manager. 

1943-1944: Dave Mangnall replaces Vizzard as Manager.

1946-1947: Division Three (South) Runners-up.

1947-1948: Division Three (South) Champions - Promoted to Division Two. 


1904-1905: QPR move to Park Royal and Neil Murphy is the Club's first international player (Republic of Ireland).

1907-1908: The R's are crowned Southern League Champions and Evelyn Lintott is QPR's first England international. QPR are also runners up in the first ever Charity Shield.

1911-1912: Rangers crowned Southern League Champions and also come runners-up in the Charity Shield.

1917-1918: The R's move to Loftus Road. 

1920-1921: QPR join the Football League.

1926-1927: Club colours are changed to blue and white hoops. QPR's all-time record goalscorer George Goddard signs. 


1882-1886: Queens Park Rangers founded after a merger of Christchurch Rangers (1882) and St. Jude's Institute (1884).

1892-1893: Green and White Hoops introduced and first trophy is won, the West London Observer Cup.

1895-1896: Rangers enter the English FA Cup for the first time.

1899-1900: Club turn professional and join the Southern League.