icon_corner icon_start_stop icon_start_stop icon_start_stop goal-black icon_post icon_miss icon_save icon_card_red icon_save icon_start_stop icon_sub icon_card_yellow instagram icon-2018 twitter icon-2018 youtube icon-2018

Breaking News

Trust host Schools League Finals at Hanwell Town FC

QPR in the Community Trust hosted our Schools League Finals at the Powerday Stadium - home of Hanwell Town FC - last week.

Sponsored by Trust partner Hyperoptic, the Schools League is a yearly tournament that we offer to our local secondary schools across our seven London boroughs.

This year saw 12 schools across west London competing with players aged 11-18 for the boys and 12-15 for the girls.

Each age group consists of a round-robin format with the top four teams progressing through to the play-offs. Teams then battle it out to see which two will play in the plate and which two will compete for the championship.

With over 500 fans in attendance across the weekend, Saturday 7th May saw teams battling it out for plate final and on Sunday 8th May, teams returned for the championship final.

Raul Costea, spokesperson for Hyperoptic, said: “We are proud to be working with QPR - it’s been two days of amazing football, fantastic competition but most importantly it’s been fun for the family and friends of those involved. 

“We are proud sponsors of this event and are happy to be here in the community receiving amazing feedback from them. We hope to be involved in something like this again and to continue our relationship with QPR.”

A big well done to all teams involved and congratulations to the winners!

Thank you also to Hanwell Town FC for your hospitality and of course, to the event sponsors Hyperoptic.

Plate winners

U18 Boys: QPR Harrow College

Year 11 Boys: West London Free School

Year 10 Boys: Ark Burlington Danes

Year 9 Boys: St Thomas More

Year 8 Boys: St Thomas More

Year 7 Boys: All Saints Catholic College

Year 8 Girls: St Thomas More

Year 10 Girls: St Thomas More

Championship winners

U18 Boys: QPR College Academy

Year 11 Boys: Fulham Boys School

Year 10 Boys: Fulham Boys School

Year 9 Boys: Fulham Boys School

Year 8 Boys: Fulham Boys School

Year 7 Boys: Fulham Boys School

Year 8 Girls: Chelsea Academy

Year 10 Girls: Chelsea Academy

Article written by Saif Atrakji